Voting for Araria Lok Sabha seat and Assembly Constituencies of Bhabua & Jehanabad

Bihar by-polls: Over 30% cast votes in Araria, around 25% in Jehanabad, Bhabua till noon

Bihar by-polls: Over 30% cast votes in Araria, around 25% in Jehanabad, Bhabua till noon

After the voting Chief election officer of Bihar, Ajay Nayak reported to media persons and said that bypolls have passed off peacefully without any violence.

The Araria lok-sabha bypoll was necessitated by the death of RJD MP Mohammed Taslimuddin.

Amid eleborate security arrangements, polling today began on peaceful note at 0700 hours for by-elections to one Lok Sabha seat and two Assembly seats with electorate exercising their franchise to decide fate of 38 candidates. Earlier this year the chief minister of Bihar Nitish Kumar stepped down from his post and broke up the alliance with Lalu Yadav and Congress and joined hands with BJP.

Araria saw a 57 per cent voter turnout, while Jehanabad and Bhabua witnessed 50.6 and 54.3 per cent polling, respectively.

The BJP has expressed confidence in winning the UP seats, especially the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat which was represented by Yogi Adityanath for 5 consecutive terms before he was appointed Chief Minister. Also, two assembly seats Jehanabad and Bhabhua will go for byelection.

The poll was necessitated with the death of Mundrika Yadav, the seat that RJD hopes to retain in this Assembly bypoll.

The saffron party has fielded Kaushalendra Singh Patel from Phulpur and Upendra Dutt Shukla from Gorakhpur against the SP's Pravin Nishad and Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel, respectively.

The results for the bypolls will be declared on March 14. JD (U) has fielded Abhiram Sharma as its candidate who is giving tough challenge to RJD candidate Mr Yadav.

Meanwhile, an FIR was lodged against Bihar BJP chief Nityanand Rai for allegedly violating the model code of conduct when he said "Araria will turn into an ISI hub if the RJD candidate won the seat" while campaigning in Narpatganj on March 9.

In Bhabhua, Shambhu Singh Patel of Congress is locked in a tough contest with BJP's Rinky Rani, the widow of BJP legislator Anand Bhushan Pandey who held the seat.

Out of the three seats, RJD held Araria and Jehanabad seats and the BJP Bhabua. There were 17 candidates in the fray in Bhabhua.

In 2014, Mr. Mandal had contested the Araria Lok Sabha seat on JD (U) ticket and got 22.73% vote.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.