Sony acquires media rights for Euro 2020, UEFA Nations league

Bale and his compatriots were in high spirits ahead of the inaugural UEFA Nations League clash

Bale and his compatriots were in high spirits ahead of the inaugural UEFA Nations League clash

The UEFA Nations League gets underway on Thursday night in some style as the world champions, France, take on Germany in Munich.

Sony Pictures Network India (SPN) has acquired the exclusive rights to broadcast the UEFA Nations League football and Euro 2020 as the company continues to capitalise on the rising popularity of the sport in India. "This title of world champion, you have to manage it but it's not a weight or a burden to carry".

France responded immediately to that with their first real opening of the contest when N'Golo Kante found Chelsea teammate Olivier Giroud inside the box, but the striker - who failed to register a single shot on target at the World Cup - saw his powerful downward header pushed away by Manuel Neuer.

League C - This group contains 15 teams in one pot of three teams and three pots of four.

The six nations that made it to the final round of the Concacaf qualifiers for the 2018 World Cup - the United States, Mexico, Costa Rica, Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago, and Panama - receive automatic entry into the competition, and will play in League A. The EURO 2020 will run from June 12 to July 12 in 2020 and will feature 24 teams.

On Friday, September 7, Italy tackle Poland and thereafter England will take on 2010 World Cup winners Spain Saturday, September 8, when Northern Ireland face Bosnia and Herzegovina.

It was a 30th global goal for Bale, who is Wales' all-time leading goal-scorer.

Aaron Ramsey netted the third with a low effort after being teed up by the excellent Ethan Ampadu before Connor Roberts bashed in the fourth after half-time.

Ireland's 1-0 win in Cardiff last October had ended Wales' World Cup dream, but Martin O'Neill's side were awful this time.

Strikes from Tom Lawrence, Bale and Aaron Ramsey before the break and Connor Roberts after it put the home side in complete control in Cardiff before substitute Shaun Williams reduced the deficit.

Forty teams from Concacaf will compete in the Nations League, which is, essentially, a three-league competition. "But we've prepared as seriously as possible".

Meanwhile, had earlier reported that many football fans most especially in Nigeria hardly follow the UEFA Europa League unless clubs like Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool fall into this championship.

The top placed teams in the groups of leagues B, C and D are promoted to the next higher tier while the bottom-placed sides are relegated to the lower tier.

In other results, Georgia beat Kazakhstan 2-0, Armenia had a 2-1 win over Liechtenstein, Latvia had a scoreless draw with Andorra and Macedonia defeated Gibraltar 2-0.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.